Joaquín Villatoro Medina Collection

(Madrid, 1898 - Paris, 1963)

Date added: 1996

Contains: 101 scores and other documents (concert programmes).

Joaquín Villatoro Medina

Description of the archive

Identification details

Reference code: ES. 28006.BFJM/

Title/Name: Joaquín Villatoro Medina Bequest

Dates: 1937-1987

Citation format: Joaquín Villatoro Medina Bequest (Library of the Fundación Juan March. Madrid)

Description level: Collection


Archival history: Following the composer's death, his papers remained in the possession of his family. In 1996 his widow, Mrs. Beatriz Acebal, decided to donate them.

Institutional history/biographical sketch: Joaquín Villatoro was born in Castro del Río (Córdoba) on 31 December 1911. He started his musical education in 1924 under Emilio Díaz and Francisco Algaba. The municipal council of his home town supported his musical career by enabling him to attend the Córdoba Conservatory, where he studied under Mariano Gómez Camarero and obtained his music theory and basic piano qualifications. With a pension from the Córdoba Provincial Council, he entered the Madrid Conservatory, where his teachers included Conrado del Campo, Óscar Esplá and Eduardo Torner. In 1931, with a grant from the Córdoba Provincial Council, he moved to Paris to study at the École Normale de Musique, where he was taught by Paul Dukas and Alfred Cortot, and was very well received by the critic Henri Collet. In 1942 he earned diplomas in Piano, Harmony and Composition from the Madrid Conservatory. In 1951 the Presidency of the French Republic awarded him a grant to study the great vocal music forms at the César Franck School. In 1956, by official examination, he won a position in the first rank of the Corps of Civilian Band Conductors. He was the director of the four public musical institutions - Municipal Band, Conservatory (of which he was the founder), Symphony Orchestra, and Choral Society - of Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz, from 1962 until his retirement in 1980. His main works, premiered between 1930 and 1953, include "Leyenda dramática" (1941), premiered by the Madrid Municipal Band under his direction; "Canto a Córdoba" (1948), a symphonic poem premiered by the Cordoba Municipal Band; and the overture "Frigia" (1952), performed by the Alumni Orchestra of the César Franck School of Paris. He composed other works, unpublished or premiered under his direction, covering practically all genres, including string quartets, choral works, works for brass band, madrigals, hymns, etc., notably "El acorazado Potenkin", a ballet for orchestra, and "Canción de la paz", with words by Blas de Otero. He died in Madrid on 8 February 1987.

Manner of acquisition: DONATION

Content and Structure

Scope and Content: The documents in this collection consist mostly of handwritten scores, personal papers and concert programmes.

Evaluation, selection, removal: Given their historical interest, all the documents are to be preserved permanently, in accordance with Law 16/1985 of 25 June on Spanish Historical Heritage.

Conditions Governing Access and Use

Conditions governing access: The documents are open to all.

Conditions governing reproduction: Reproduction is permitted for research and study purposes.

Language/script(s) of the documents: he predominant language is Spanish.

Physical characteristics and technical requirements: Most of the documents are in good condition.

Notes and Control

Notes: The collection is digitized

Other resources in the Foundation