Canal March

Brahms' 16 Waltzes Op. 39

Petra Somlai and Bart van Oort, fortepianos

16 Waltzes Op. 39 by Johannes Brahms

After the Congress of Vienna (1814), the waltz spread all over Europe and became a symbol of the Austrian capital. In his 16 Waltzes Op. 39 (1864), Johannes Brahms pays tribute to his adoptive city and one of his greatest advocates, the critic Eduard Hanslick, to whom they are dedicated. Petra Somlai and Bart van Oort perform this collection of short and light-hearted pieces on a fortepiano by Paul McNulty that reproduces a model by Conrad Graf (c. 1819).

Go to event page