Canal March

Schubert's Fantasia in F minor Op. 103

Andreas Staier & Antonio Piricone, piano four hand

Fantasia in F minor Op. 103, D 940, by Franz Schubert

In the spring of 1828, just a few months before his premature death, Schubert put the finishing touches on this Fantasia, one of the most lyrical works in his catalogue. The work is divided into the conventional four movements of the sonata, which are interconnected and performed without pause, and features a rich palette of textures and keys. The initial cantabile, in which beauty and simplicity combine to create one of the most unforgettable moments in the whole of Schubert’s work, gives way to a fugal passage and a section in the manner of a minuet, concluding with the unforgettable opening melody.

Go to event page