Canal March

Sonata for violin and piano by Respighi

Francisco García Fullana, violin & José Menor, piano

Ottorino Respighi: Violin Sonata in B minor P 110

Best known for his orchestral music, Ottorino Respighi also composed outstanding chamber works including this Violin Sonata in B minor (1917). The expressive tension of the Sonata is maintained throughout its three movements, climaxing with the frenetic final “Passacaglia”. The opening section of the movement is grandiose in nature, and this is followed by a more lyrical fragment. The movement concludes with a passage in which the initial grandeur reappears, combined with virtuosic writing in the piano part.

Go to event page