Canal March

Ramón Paus' Ciudadano Sombra

Garnati Ensemble

Ciudadano Sombra by Ramón Paus (world premiere)

When we are stripped of culture, our home or social services, we become “Ciudadanos Sombra” (Shadow citizens). But “Sombra” can also rebel (as the viola does in the first movement of this trio by Ramón Paus); it can imagine a more ethical world (such as in the second movement) or flee forward (an escape reflected in the pizzicati of the last movement). Paus, who has established a long career as a film composer, demonstrates his talent for concert music in this trio, skilfully moving between tonality and atonality.   

Go to event page