Canal March

Weinberg: Trío, Op. 48

Oxalys and Boyan Vodenitcharov, piano

“Moderato assai” of Trio Op. 48, by Mieczyslaw Weinberg

This string trio (the only trio for this instrumental combination in Weinberg’s vast and largely unknown catalogue of works) dates from 1950. Only two years earlier, the Soviet authorities publically condemned the composer, accusing his music of alleged formalism. The extraordinary rhythmic quality of this movement reveals the mastery of a composer who is yet to hold his rightful place in the history of twentieth-century music.

Go to event page