Canal March

Josep Planells' Satz

Mariana Todorova, violin, and Mariana Gurkova, piano

Satz, by Josep Planells (world premiere)

Josep Planells’s Satz, premiered during this concert, is divided into seven sections based on the chord formed by the seven notes held with the tonal pedal of the piano. This sound cluster, developed discreetly throughout the work, gives rise to a “neoexpressionist” language characterised by wide intervalic leaps and numerous portamenti in the violin.

Go to event page