Canal March

Francisco Coll's Four Iberian Miniatures,

Mariana Todorova and Mariana Gurkova

Francisco Coll: Four Iberian Miniatures Op. 20

Francisco Coll composed Four Iberian Miniatures for orchestra in 2013, and created the version for violin and piano performed by Mariana Gurkova and Mariana Todorova two years later. Throughout the work, Coll evokes features from flamenco, but he does so from a satirical perspective whose intention is not to sublimate folklore through its incorporation in “art” music, but put forward an iconoclastic interpretation of tradition.

Go to event page