Jaime Lamo de Espinosa Memories of the Fundación

Jaime Lamo de Espinosa

  1. The event took place on
Jaime Lamo de Espinosa interviewed by Íñigo Alfonso

Jaime Lamo de Espinosa (Madrid, 1941) is a Doctor of agricultural engineering and an economist. Since 2011 he is Emeritus Professor at the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM). Since 1991, he held the "Jean Monnet" Chair of Economics at the UPM by agreement with the European Commission (EC). He is the author of books including La Década Perdida: 1986-1996. La Agricultura española en Europa (1997), La nueva política agraria de la Unión Europea (1998) and El nuevo sistema agroalimentario en una crisis global (2009), and of the report “El agua en el mundo-El mundo del agua” (2016).

He has been Sub-secretary of Agriculture (1976-1977), Minister of Agriculture in the Adolfo Suárez Government (1978-1982) and Assistant Minister to the President of the Leopoldo Calvo-Sotelo Government and parliamentary spokesmen of the Grupo UCD (1982). From 1978 to 1982 he negotiated the Treaty of Accession of Spain to the European Economic Community (EEC) with Brussels. He was voted President of the 20th FAO World Conference in Rome (1979) and President of the Agriculture Ministers’ Conference of the Organization for the OCDE (1979). He is a founder and Honorary President of the Asociación España-FAO (AEFAO).

He is a member of the Académie d’Agriculture de France, the Colegio Libre de Eméritos, the Academia de Doctores de España and the Real Academia de Ciencias Económicas y Financieras. He is the recipient of the Gran Cruz de Carlos III, Gran Cruz de Isabel la Católica, Gran Cruz de Mérito Agrícola and Mérito Civil de España, Order of Merit of Germany and of France and the Gold Medal of Merit from the Council of Europe, among other accolades. He received the Premio Rey Jaime I de Economía in 1999.

He is presently a board member of the Mutua Madrileña and President of the Asociación Nacional de Constructoras Independientes (ANCI). In 2019 he was awarded the Premio Leopoldo Calvo Sotelo al Liderazgo Público.