Rosa María Calaf Conversations at the Fundación

Rosa María Calaf

  1. The event took place on
Rosa María Calaf in dialogue with Antonio San José

A graduate in Law and Journalism and Master of European Institutions, the journalist Rosa María Calaf was the longest serving correspondent at TVE, after a 25-year career abroad. She opened the Moscow correspondents’ post for the Soviet Union in 1987, and she was also a correspondent in Rome for Italy and the Vatican, Vienna for Eastern Europe-Balkans, Hong Kong for the Asia-Pacific region and Peking for China and Asia. She was a New York correspondent for the United States and Canada, during the Reagan era, and restructured the Buenos Aires correspondents’ post for South America. In addition, she formed part of the team that founded TV3 and was director of programming in 1983.

She was the recipient of the Premio Ondas 2001 for the Best Professional, the Cirilo Rodríguez Journalism Award, the Premio Nacional de Periodismo de Cataluña, International Press Club Award for Best Work in a Foreign Country, the José Couso Prize for Press Freedom and the Medalla de Oro de Cruz Roja 2017, among many other accolades. She was awarded honorary doctorates from the Jaume I, Rovira i Virgili and Miguel Hernández universities. In 2007 she was presented with the Women Together Award, by the United Nations, for her professional career in support of the fight for equality.

She now spends her time teaching and publishing, collaborating with various institutions and ONGs.

The conversation will be accompanied by the projection of videos and images relating to our guest’s career.


  1. Antonio San JoséAntonio San José

    Periodista. A lo largo de su reconocida trayectoria profesional dirigió durante doce años el programa de entrevistas Cara a Cara en Canal+ y CNN+, donde además fue director de informativos. Fue también director adjunto de informativos de Antena 3 TV, director de informativos de RNE y redactor jefe de los telediarios de TVE. Entre 2012 y 2015 ha sido director de Comunicación de AENA. Es autor de los libros La felicidad de las pequeñas cosas (2011) y Hoy no me cambio por nadie (2014).