Saturday Concerts

Prokofiev: Complete Piano Sonatas

12, 19, 26 January, and 2 February 2019
Saturday Concerts:


Together with his compatriot Rachmaninoff, Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) belongs to the last generation of great Russian pianists that were also very active composers. It is, therefore, not surprising that piano works are a central part of his output. The nine sonatas preserved span his career as a composer (between 1907 and 1947), while at the same time bear witness to his endless exploration of new idiomatic resources, with an original percussive and rhythmic conception of the piano. The complete piano sonatas are presented in Spain, a country close to the composer’s heart, by a majority of Russian performers.

Available on streaming via Canal March