The Motet, from Beginning to End

4, 11, 18, 25 October 2017
Wednesday Series:


No other musical genre, except the Mass, can presume to have a history of over eight centuries that sprawls over the Catholic world and Protestant countries alike. However, the lone denomination of motet conceals musical forms with different characteristics according to each period. This series follows its rich and complex history, featuring the most important composers from each of the four periods of splendour: Pérotin, Machaut and Vitry in the transition from the Ars Antiqua to the Ars Nova during the Middle Ages; from Du Fay to Guerrero in the splendour of Renaissance polyphony; from the Baroque composers Sweelinck and Bach to the Romantics Mendelssohn and Bruckner and, to end, Franck, Brahms and Reger.

Available on streaming via Canal March

Related videos
Watch video: The Motet. Renaissance. From Du Fay to Guerrero
Watch video: The Motet, from Beginning to End
Watch video: The Motet, from Beginning to End