Revived Quintet

21 February 2018
Premieres and Re-premieres:


Tomás Bretón and Conrado del Campo were two figures that were crucial to Spanish music in the transition from the nineteenth to the twentieth century. Although both composers employed a wide range of musical genres, they were particularly tenacious about the chamber-music repertory, determined to contribute to its development in Spain. The piano quintets composed by Bretón (1905) and Del Campo (1952), previously unpublished and revived in this concert using new editions, are part of a fragmentary but admirable collection of works for small string ensembles and piano. They are thus the continuation of a compositional tradition featuring composers such as Enrique Granados, Isaac Albéniz, Pedro Tintorer and Enrique Fernández Arbós.

Available on streaming via Canal March

Starting in 1986 this series of concerts offers works by Spanish composers that, for whatever reason, have not been easy to hear after their premiere, leading, on occasions, to the practical "disappearance" of pieces, in many cases undeservedly.

The Aula de (Re)estrenos (Auditorium of Re-premieres) is not limited to rediscovering works from the past, it is also a space where recent works, either already premiered in other places or yet to be premiered, are presented for the first time in Madrid. All the audio of the previous Aulas, together with the programs, the photographs and other related materials are available in Clamor. Digital library of Spanish Music

See previous Premieres and Re-Premieres
Related videos
Watch video: Revived Quintet