Home > 
ver vídeo

Birgit Kolar, violin; Malcolm Martineau, piano and Carlos Hipólito, narrator

The musical universe of Marcel Proust

César Franck: Sonata in A Major for violin and piano


In numerous passages from In Search of Lost Time, Marcel Proust describes an imaginary violin and piano sonata composed by the fictitious Monsieur Vinteuil. The attention to detail in his descriptions has led to the search for a real model for this work, which many composers have believed to be César Franck’s Violin Sonata. A performance of this work is interspersed here with readings of passages from Proust’s novel.

Latest videos

See more
See more