Home > 
ver vídeo

Orquesta de Cuerda del Real Conservatorio Superior de Música de Madrid

Young Performers Series

D. Shostakóvich: Chamber Symhpony Op. 110a. J. S. Bach: Contrapunctus 1, from The Art of Fugue BWV 1080


Three days were enough for Shostakovich to compose his String Quartet No. 8. Shocked after visiting the ruins of Dresden in 1960, the Soviet composer wrote a moving work that he dedicated “to the victims of fascismo and war” and which uses the notes D, E flat, C and B as its main motive, forming the anagram DSCH (his musical signature) in German notation. A short time later, Rudolf Barshai, who was very close to Shostakovich, converted the piece into a Chamber Symphony.   

Latest videos

See more
See more