Home > 
ver vídeo

Cuarteto Quiroga (Aitor Hevia, violin, Cibrán Sierra, violin, Josep Puchades, viol, and Helena Poggio, cello), and Jonathan Brown, viol

Late 18th-century Iberian Chamber Music

José Palomino (1753-1810): String Quintet No. 1 in A major


This quintet for two violas, a genre cultivated in Vienna and popular all over Europe at the end of the eighteenth century, forms part of the collection José Palomino (1753-1810) dedicated to the Spanish Ambassador in Lisbon, the Count of Fernán Núñez. The rich textural work, the repetition of motives, melodic chromaticism and the profusion of contrasts put it in Boccherini’s sphere, but some of the traits of Haydn’s language can also be identified.

Latest videos

See more
See more