Home > 
ver vídeo

Tamar Beraia, piano

The Bach Saga (II)

Prelude and Gavote of English Suite no. 6, by Johann Sebastian Bach


Bach probably composed his six English Suites around 1715. There is nothing English about these works, the name stemming from the opinion of Bach’s first biographer, Forkel, who suggested that they might have been composed for an English nobleman, although there is no evidence to substantiate this claim. The 6th Suite opens with a long and elaborate “Prelude”, followed by an “Allemande”, a dance in duple meter and in two parts that, according to some theorists, is equivalent to the “propositio” in rhetoric.

Latest videos

See more
See more