Home > 
ver vídeo

Emilio Moreno, violin; Josetxu Obregón, cello and Jesús Sánchez, guitar

Musics for the King

“Adagio”, from the Sonata in A major, by Carlo A. Lonati, Il Gobbo


The Madrid Royal Chapel always sought the best musicians and most modern compositional styles with which to exalt the King. One of the most significant renewals of the Chapel took place at the end of the 1670s, when Carlo Lonati, who shared a desk with Corelli in Rome and was one of the best violinists of his generation, arrived in Madrid. This “Adagio” is one of the few-known examples that could be linked to the period he spent in Madrid, and one of the first testimonies of music genuinely conceived for the violin that might have been composed in Spain.

Latest videos

See more
See more