Home > 
ver vídeo

Cuarteto Doric: Alex Redington, violin; Jonathan Stone, violin; Hélène Clément, viol and John Myerscough, cello

Hugo Wolf's Italian Serenade in G Major

Hugo Wolf: Italian Serenade in G Major


In Romantic Germany, numerous composers were attracted to southern European culture. One of them was Hugo Wolf, whose interest was reflected in his Lieder collections. His Italian Serenade, composed very frenetically in just three days in 1887, is another example of this passion. Initially conceived in three movements, it eventually became a brilliant work in free rondo form, probably inspired by a novel by Joseph von Eichendorff.

Latest videos

See more
See more