Home > 
ver vídeo

Boris Berman, piano

The Anti-Modernists. The Russian Way

Sergei Prokofiev: Sonata No. 5 in C Major Op. 135


Composed in 1923, and revised in 1953, the Sonata No. 5 in C Major Op. 38 was the only work in this genre Prokofiev composed outside Russia. This explains the marked influence of French music reflected in the work, and which is apparent in the phrase “à la Poulenc” accompanying the opening movement. The “Andantino” reveals similarities with the music of Ravel, while the last movement has a mechanical beat that, at times, seems to evoke the sound of a train.


Latest videos

See more
See more