Home > 
ver vídeo

Cuarteto Francisco de Goya

Carlos de Ordoñez: String Quartet in G Minor

Carlos de Ordoñez: String Quartet in G Minor Op. 2 No. 6


Carlos de Ordoñez, of remote Spanish descent, was a Viennese composer who worked as a civil servant and amateur violinist. Despite this, he composed at least 27 string quartets in which he demonstrates a skilful handling of counterpoint and is testimony to the fact that, apart from Haydn and Mozart, there were many outstanding composers who contributed to the growth of the genre. The Francisco de Goya Quartet gave the first modern-day performance of his String Quartet in G minor, whose second movement is a “Fugue”, instead of the usual slow movement.

Latest videos

See more
See more