Home > 
ver vídeo

Cuarteto Amber (Fangliang- Ning, violin; Wang Qi, violin; Yajing Su, violin; Yichen Yang, cello

Zhang Zhao's Totem

Zhang Zhao: Totem


The Chinese composer Zhang Zhao composed Totem in 2001. In this work, divided into three movements, Zhao combines elements from the tonal system with others from the Eastern tradition (pentatonic scales) and with more unusual sounds. This is the case with the sonorities that are produced by beating the bodies and necks of the instruments, which lead to interesting rhythmic games, especially in the last section of the piece.

Latest videos

See more
See more