menu horizontal
Botón que abre el buscador
Home > 

Concert videos

Number of videos: 486

  • Laurence Verna & Pedro Casablanc. Ignacio García, artistic direction
  • Antonio Najarro, direction and choreography
    Antonio Najarro, direction and choreography
    The Cuckold's Fair. Ballet in one act
    55:16JANUARY 10, 2018

    At the beginning of the 1930s, a constellation of artists consisting of García Lorca, Rivas Cherif, Gustavo Pittaluga, La Argentinita and Alberto Sánchez created a work destined to revolutionise Spanish dance: La romería de los cornudos. With a storyline of popular origin and orgiastic overtones, this ballet combines traditional and avant-garde elements. In this production —the first incursion into the world of ballet in the Chamber Music Theatre format— Alberto’s original sceneography, preserved in the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía (MNCARS) is reproduced to scale.

  • Eva Sandoval, presenter
    Eva Sandoval, presenter
    Una mirada a los orígenes
    39:10FEBRUARY 9, 2018

    Mendelssohn and Schumann conceived some of the most influential string quartets in history during the mid-nineteenth century, still guided by Beethoven’s works. In this presentation, Eva Sandoval introduces Mendelssohn’s String Quartet in E minor, Op. 44 No. 2 (modelled on the Classical quartets of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven) and Schumann’s String Quartet in A minor, Op. 41 No. 1, written “according to the rules of the quartet”.

  • Percusiones del CSMA. César Peris, conductor
    Percusiones del CSMA. César Peris, conductor
    Works by: A. Roldán, E. Varèse, and J. Ardévol
    24:02NOVEMBER 6, 2017

    On 25 January 1978, the Salón de Actos at the Fundación Juan March was the scene of the premiere of Edgar Varèse’s Ionisation (1930) in Spain. On the eve of the 40th anniversary of that concert, Percusiones del CSMA once again performs Varèse’s work together with Rítmicas (1930), by the Cuban composer Amadeo Roldán, and the Spanish premiere of the Estudio en forma de preludio y fuga para 37 instrumentos (1934), by the Spanish-born Cuban composer José Ardévol.


  • Antonio Najarro, artistic director and choreographer
  • Ópera Cómica de Madrid
    Ópera Cómica de Madrid
    Lorenzín o el camarero del cine, zarzuela parodia de Lohengrin de Wagner
    1:00:16SEPTEMBER 30, 2017

    Celsa the Foolish, accused of fratricide by Talemundo, faces a popular trial. Her defence is based on announcing the arrival of a dashing knight who is coming to save her and who, effectively, appears wearing tin armour. After numerous episodes, the knight reveals his identity: he is Lorencín, who comes from the Order of the Petróleo Gal. This is the plot to one of the masterpieces written by the librettist Salvador Granés and the composer Luis Arnedo, Lorencín, o el caballero del cine, a hilarious parody of Lohengrin that ridicules the magnificence and transcendentalism of Wagner’s original.  

  • Cuarteto Quiroga
    Cuarteto Quiroga
    Works by Haydn, Pleyel, and Mozart
    1:04:56NOVEMBER 24, 2017

    Like many listeners of his time, Goethe conceived the string quartet as a rational conversation between four intelligent people. To a large extent, this idea is embodied in works like Haydn’s String Quartets, Op. 33, which revolutionised the string-quartet genre. Following suit, Mozart would take three years to compose six quartets that he dedicated to his friend Haydn. For his part, Ignaz Pleyel, Haydn’s pupil, managed to disseminate his quartets very successfully all over Europe.


  • Jorge Robaina, piano
    Jorge Robaina, piano
    Salvador Bacarisse: Cinq petits interludes por piano Op. 92 (II), Andante malinconico oso. 31 and Hommage funèbre Op. 123 nº 2
    6:25NOVEMBER 29, 2017

    Salvador Bacarisse was one of the most outstanding composers of the Second Republic. Musical director of Unión Radio, after the Civil War he had to go into exile in Paris, where he lived until his death. In the French capital he composed pieces like Andante Malinconico, Hommage funèbre Op. 123 no. 2 and the Cinc petits interludes pour piano, originally conceived for a radio program about the exiled poet Juan Arroquín.

  •  Luis Gago, presenter
    Luis Gago, presenter
    The Second Generation of the Quartet: Beethoven and Schubert
    41:14DECEMBER 15, 2017

    In a few short years, the quartet became the backbone of modern musical creation, and early-nineteenth century Vienna witnessed how Beethoven and Schubert took the genre to its formal and expressive limits. In this presentation, Luis Gago spells out certain compositional features that question the Classical ideal of the quartet as a conversation between four reasonable people and presents the keys to listening to Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95, the “Serioso” and Schubert’s String Quartet No. 14 in D minor, D 810, “Death and the Maiden”.


  • Jorge Robaina, piano
    Jorge Robaina, piano
    Julián Bautista: Colores
    21:12NOVEMBER 29, 2017

    Julián Bautista composed the suite Colores between 1921 and 1922. The Impressionist language inherited from Debussy and Russian pianism is reflected in a work made up of six movements, in which the composer subjectively evokes the effects of the colours white, violet, black, blue, yellow and orange on him. Here, the performance is accompanied by a lighting design.

Fundación Juan March
Castelló, 77 – 28006 MADRID – Spain
+34 91 435 42 40